RefWorks – Changing Account Email Address

First, we want to say congratulations to our recent Dominican College graduates! Now that you are apart of the DC alumni, you will continue to have access to our RefWorks database. But in order to maintain your access, you will need to change your DC email address in your RefWorks account to a personal one.

Check out our instructions below on how to change your email address:

1) Login to your RefWorks account. You can access the RefWorks (New) database via the Sullivan Library database list.

RefWorks_Login

2) Select the drop-down box by your name and click on Settings.

Account_Settings

3) Change your role from Student to Alumni and add your personal email address. Click on Update to save your changes.

Changing_Email

For more information about changing your email address in RefWorks, check out the Alumni Access tab in our RefWorks Database Guide.

Advertisements

Goodbye EasyBib EDU

Goodbye

EasyBib EDU is ending August 31, 2018. EDU is the educational version of EasyBib (offered through the Sullivan Library) that offers MLA, APA, Chicago, and other premium features. If you have an EasyBib EDU account and want to keep your saved citations, you must save your work before August 31st using one of the following options:

The free version of EasyBib.com will continue to exist after August but will only include MLA. For a fee you can sign up for a premium account that offers multiple citation styles and other features.

 

Questions? Read more here or contact a Librarian.

Want a replacement for Easybib? We recommend RefWorks.

 

New Database: Nexis Uni

The Sullivan Library is pleased to announce our new database, Nexis Uni. Replacing the former LexisNexis database, this platform offers users access to thousands of business, criminal justice, political science and general news resources.

From the home page, users can search for news, court cases, law reviews and company information through either a basic, guided or advanced search.

Home Page

Nexis Uni Home Page

Users also have the option to browse through 3 different topics for recent news coverage, legislation, featured publications, Supreme Court decisions, recent law review articles and blog and social media posts.

Political Science Topic Page

Political Science Topic Page

Find an article or court case you want to use for your paper? Nexis Uni offers a variety of options for saving and sending documents. Users can download documents in PDF, Word and Rich Text formats with formatting options to change the font type, size and line spacing. Documents can also be sent to a user’s Google Drive account or email address.

Article Save and Send Options

Article with Saving and Sending Options

 

When you register for a free Nexis Uni account, you will have the option to create your own folders to save and organize documents as you conduct your research within the database. Simply click on the Sign In/Register link in the upper right hand corner of the database screen to create your account.

You can find Nexis Uni on our A-Z Database Page. Check it out today!

The Big Fall Semester Update

Many changes are afoot now that the summer has passed us by and the Fall semester is in full swing! The most recent news…

  • New Research Guides! Our librarians are very happy to announce that we have revamped our research guides, which are now looking quite spiffy (click the link above or go to guides.dc.edu). Use these subject and/or course guides to help you get started with your research in various disciplines! Use the new A-Z Database List to find your favorite database.
coffee machine

Get yr free cup of coffee before supply runs out!

  • New Coffee Machine! That’s right, folks. We bought a Keurig, which now lives in the new Library Lounge near the Periodicals Room in the Library. We are giving away the first 500 cups of coffee for free (!!), so come on over to the library before supply runs out.
  • New database! Over the summer we bought access to a new (to us) database: The Cochrane Library. Particularly useful for our nursing and allied health students, the Cochrane Library “is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups” (cochranelibrary.com). The Cochrane Library is also the leading database for up-to-date systematic reviews.
  • New staff! Over the summer, we hired a new librarian to replace Gina Shelton (who was promoted to Head Librarian—way to go, Gina!) as the Assistant Librarian for Information Literacy Services. Ellie Horowitz will be teaching most of the undergraduate instruction classes at the library, as well as working one-on-one with students during research consultations. Need help with finding sources for your research paper? Email her at ellie [dot] horowitz [at] dc [dot] edu. We have also hired three new part-time clerks, who will be announced shortly!

Library hours have returned to their normal schedule:

  • Monday-Thursday: 8am-Midnight
  • Friday: 8am-7pm
  • Saturday-Sunday: Noon-7pm

Learning Commons hours are as follows:

  • Monday-Thursday: 10am-10pm
  • Friday:10am-7pm
  • Saturday: CLOSED
  • Sunday: Noon-7pm

We look forward to working with you this semester!!

Welcome back to Sullivan Library!

Dominican College students and staff helping after Superstorm Sandy

For those students who are new to Sullivan Library, we have a downloadable Quick Guide to the Sullivan Library which lists our hours, phone number, and other FAQ-type questions. If you are working on a project, we recommend our subject guides which list databases to find journal articles in, websites to look at, reference resources at the library, and more. We also have a map and directions (.pdf) to the library.

Some good links to bookmark on your personal computer include the database sign-in page, our books catalog, a listing of the library’s YouTube videos, our hours, librarian and staff contact information, the list of workshops offered in the Spring and Fall (when available), research handouts (APA/MLA guides, EBSCOhost searching guides, and more!), and our Internet resources page. If you want to keep up with the latest news and information coming from the library, feel free to subscribe to The Veritas Blog hosted on WordPress.

Our main library page from which you can access these services is located on the Dominican College Portal.

NEW: EBSCOhost YouTube videos

New this semester, Sullivan Library has three YouTube videos related to EBSCOhost. This collection of databases represent the #1 place to search for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles here at Dominican College! EBSCOhost has databases for many Dominican offered programs, including Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Nursing, Athletic Training, Psychology, Education, and more!

Choosing Databases in EBSCOhost Not sure which database to pick even after watching the first video? Academic Search Elite is a great database which covers many different subject areas.

EBSCOhost Basic Search Learn the basics of searching EBSCOhost at Sullivan Library – from Boolean operators to setting simple limiters such as peer-reviewed/scholarly. Learn how to see how long an article is, if you have the full text of the article, and how to see the abstract of the article right from the list of results. Research will be a breeze!

EBSCOhost Advanced Search Go even more in depth with this brief EBSCOhost advanced search tutorial, showing you how to use the advanced search page effectively, as well as folders for organizing your research.