Upcoming Research Workshops!

Research Made Easy

Monday, Oct 15 @ 12:00 – 1:00PM

Discover all the tricks and tips needed to gather your research into something spectacular, from setting deadlines to creating thesis statements – and everything in between!

Citations: APA and MLA basics

Wednesday, Oct 24 @ 11:00 – 11:45AM

*or*

3:00 – 3:45PM

Learn the rules of APA and MLA, including paper formatting in Word 2007/2010, in-text citations, and reference lists.

Register at: http://www.tinyurl.com/2012Workshops

Advertisements

Welcome back to Sullivan Library! Fall 2012

For those students who are new to Sullivan Library, we have a downloadable Quick Guide to the Sullivan Library which lists our hours, phone number, and other FAQ-type questions. If you are working on a project, we recommend our subject guides which list databases to find journal articles in, websites to look at, reference resources at the library, and more. We also have a map and directions (.pdf) to the library.

New this year! Instructional videos on YouTube, and extended hours Monday through Thursday, from 10PM to midnight in the front of the library (main reading room, Lunibos room, and Huston room).

Some good links to bookmark on your personal computer include the database sign-in page, our books catalog, our hours, librarian and staff contact information, the list of workshops offered in the Spring and Fall, research handouts (APA/MLA guides, EBSCOhost searching guides, and more!), and our Internet resources page. If you want to keep up with the latest news and information coming from the library, feel free to subscribe to The Veritas Blog hosted on WordPress.

Our main library page from which you can access these services is located on the Dominican College Portal.

New Mobile Apps available!

The Sullivan Library is proud to introduce four new mobile apps for accessing our wonderful library resources. More information (including download information) on the four apps can be found on the Library Portal Page.

The four apps are:

BookMyne – use this app to access and search our library catalog. You can also scan a book’s barcode and check BookMyne to see if we own it.

 

EBSCOhost Mobile – use this app to search for sources for your research. You will need to re-authenticate your access every 9 months.

 

 

Gale Mobile – use this app to search for sources for your research. You will need to re-authenticate your access about every 12 months.

 

Britannica Mobile – use this app to search for ready-reference information about a broad range of topics, all from your mobile device!

 

EBSCOhost workshops next week!

Sullivan Library Workshops

EBSCOhost

Monday, March 5  from 3:45 to 4:45 PM

Thursday, March 8  from 5:45 to 6:45 PM

Featuring one of the most used databases here at Dominican, this workshop is not to be missed! These databases offer articles (journal, magazine and newspaper) as well as electronic books.  Specialty databases are available for the health sciences, psychology, education, and business – or set your sights on Academic Search Elite, a general database perfect for everyone!
As with all workshops, everyone is welcome to attend! Register for this and other Spring 2012 workshops here:

http://www.tinyurl.com/2012Workshops

Please note registration must be made by 12PM the day of. Workshops with no registrations at this time will not be held.

Research Made Easy workshops next week!

Sullivan Library Workshops

Research Made Easy

Monday, February 20  from 5:45 to 6:45 PM  

Thursday, February 23 from 10:45 to 11:45 AM

Discover all the tricks and tips needed to gather your research into something spectacular, from setting deadlines to creating thesis statements – and everything in between. Register for this and other Spring 2012 workshops here:

http://www.tinyurl.com/2012Workshops

Please note registration must be made by 12PM the day of. Workshops with no registrations at this time will not be held.

 

ProQuest workshop, Updates to the Handouts page

Sullivan Library Workshops

ProQuest

Tuesday, February 7th, 10:45 – 11:45 AM
Friday, February 10th, 5:45 – 6:45PM

With a user-friendly interface, ProQuest makes it a snap to find the articles you need, including journal articles, newspapers and magazines. This database is useful regardless of the degree you are pursuing here at Dominican – be it criminal justice, nursing, occupational therapy, education, social work, business, or more! Come learn how to get the most out of this wonderful resource by attending one of the two workshops being held next week.

Register for this and other Spring 2012 workshops here:

http://www.tinyurl.com/2012Workshops

Additions to the Handouts Tab

In addition, the following items have been added to the handouts tab:

Updates to APA 6th guide and Using Boolean Operators in Searches.

New files include: Quick Guides to EasyBib and PubMed, as well as new RefWorks documents for the RefGrabIt browser tool and the Write-n-Cite MS Word add-on. There are also two new files for research: a research log for writing down what searches you have done, and a citation log for writing down what items you have found. Highly recommended!

Let us know if there is any other handouts you would like us to add!

Workshops: Intro to Sullivan Library, RefWorks

Sullivan Library Workshops

Intro to Sullivan Library

Monday, January 23rd, 5:45 – 6:30 PM
Tuesday, January 24th, 11:00 – 11:45 AM
Get information about all the Library’s services, including how we can help you find resources both in person and online.

RefWorks

Friday, January 27th,

5:45 – 6:45 PM

Designed for the more serious scholar, this APA & MLA citation service includes RefShare for group collaboration, RefGrabIt for pulling bibliographic information from websites, and Write-N-Cite, a Microsoft Word plugin to help you cite your paper as you write it!



Register for this and other Spring 2012 workshops here:

http://www.tinyurl.com/2012Workshops