Welcome back to Sullivan Library!

Dominican College's nationally televisioned NCAA basketball game

For those students who are new to Sullivan Library, we have a downloadable Quick Guide to the Sullivan Library which lists our hours, phone number, and other FAQ-type questions. If you are working on a project, we recommend our subject guides which list databases to find journal articles in, websites to look at, reference resources at the library, and more. We also have a map and directions (.pdf) to the library.

Some good links to bookmark on your personal computer include the database sign-in page, our books catalog, our hours, librarian and staff contact information, the list of workshops offered in the Spring and Fall, research handouts (APA/MLA guides, EBSCOhost searching guides, and more!), and our Internet resources page. If you want to keep up with the latest news and information coming from the library, feel free to subscribe to The Veritas Blog hosted on WordPress.

Our main library page from which you can access these services is located on the Dominican College Portal.

Advertisements

Introducing Hoovers, NetAnatomy, and more!

NEW DATABASES!

The following databases have been added:

Hoovers

Hoovers business database offers information on 85 million individuals and 65 million private and public companies from over 900 global industries. The database also contains business news compiled from over 3,000 sources. A directory is also offered to locate contact information for potential employers, partners and clients. You can also use Hoover’s to analyze industry trends or compare companies within or across industries.

First Research

An industry style business database, Hoover’s First Research provides users with up-to-date industry intelligence data. Over 900 industries are included in this database. Industry profiles are summarized including critical industry statistics, challenges, opportunities, issues and changes. Call Prep Sheets, State and Province Profiles, and an Industry Prospector tool are also offered to locate or rank industry drivers and key economic metrics.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Morningstar Investment Research Center covers 24,000 funds and 10,000 stocks, 850 reports on ETF’s, 2000 stock analyst reports and 2000 fund analyst reports. It also includes a Portfolio X-Ray, a comprehensive Help and Education Center and other screening tools.

NetAnatomy

NetAnatomy is an online resource designed to teach human anatomy to students in the health professions. Images and information are offered in three areas: Gross Anatomy, Cross Sectional Anatomy, and Radiographic Anatomy. It also serves as a place to review anatomy after an individual’s exposure to the subject.

 

The following databases have been removed: OCLC FirstSearch (no longer available), Mergent Online (replaced by Hoovers, First Research, and Morningstar) and CAMIO: Catalog of Art Images Online.

RefWorks 2.0

Don’t pull your hair out!

RefWorks is a tool which makes it easier to create your reference lists (APA, MLA, etc) and create citations in the body of your paper itself. Last year RefWorks was upgraded to version 2.0.

A streamlined version of RefWorks classic, 2.0 makes all of the most important buttons — adding a reference, creating a bibliography, and creating a folder, visible and readily apparent on the main page of the screen. Adding a reference by hand is now a breeze, with the information on the screen reduced to the bare necessities to help novice users find their way around.

Just like RefWorks classic, you still have the option of exporting references from all the major databases (EBSCOhost, ProQuest, and more) with a single click of the mouse.

Creating your reference list and works cited page has never been THIS easy — until now! Give RefWorks 2.0 a try today.

The newly added Quick Guide to RefWorks 2.0 has been added to the handouts page.

Americans and the Space Program

One of the most recent books that the library has cataloged is “American Space Exploration and Development”, which includes five topic areas:

1) The past and present of the U.S. space program

2) Should we overhaul NASA?

3) Should private companies be put at the forefront of U.S. space flights?

4) Should we return to the moon?

5) Should we venture to Mars instead?

You can either view the library’s item record or view the table of contents.

If you are interested in more books about space exploration (either at the library or viewable on your computer), try our space exploration subject search. For more research information, check out our Credo Reference and Encyclopedia Britannica databases.

Parkes 64 meter radio telescope - Image Credit & Copyright: John Sarkissian (CSIRO Parkes Observatory)

 

 

Office 2010 / ProQuest handouts

There are two new items for the handouts page. These items are available in both .doc and PDF format:

Office 2010:

This handout is a mix of features new in Office 2010 and Office 2007, with a special focus on citations in Microsoft Word.

ProQuest:

This database is similar to EBSCOhost in what it offers (journal, magazine, and newspaper articles). The user-friendly searching style is more akin to Google. Give it a try today!

Download Office 2010 and ProQuest handouts now now.

Workshops: ProQuest, RefWorks, and more!

Rehabilitation Reference

Friday, April 1st from 5:45 to 6:45 PM

This database is useful for students who are doing clinicals and require plans of care, assessments, drug information, and more.

ProQuest

Monday, April 4th from 12:45 to 1:45 PM

ProQuest database has switched to an all new platform this semester. Come get help with the new features! The ProQuest database is useful for students who are looking for newspaper, magazine, and journal articles.

RefWorks

Tuesday, April 5th from 2:15 – 3:15 PM

This service helps you store your research and create a works cited page in APA, MLA, and other formats with the click of a mouse. It’s that easy!

Register here:

https://my.dc.edu/ICS/Library/Workshops.jnz

American Journal of Occupational Therapy for free — and more!

Currently The American Journal of Occupational Therapy is available from 2000 onwards in free full-text at this link:

http://ajot.aotapress.net/content/by/year

The above link’s access might disappear at any time, as it is trial access freely available on the Internet to anyone. When it does, Dominican College users can still access AJOT from 2004 to present in Gale’s Health Reference Center Academic. To do so:

1. Log into the database sign-in page.

2. Enter your Dominican College student information.

3. Choose Serial Solution E-Journal Page.

4. In the search box that says Title Begins With, put American Journal of Occupational Therapy.

5. Check the years to make sure we have access to the year you need.

6. Click a database link.

7. In the middle of the page, since it is a Gale database, you will need to choose the year you need, and then browse for the issue you are looking for.

8. Scan the results list to find the article you are looking for.

9. At the result you are looking for, click any full-text links — i.e. Full Text (PDF), Full Text, etc.

Click Read More for more OT journals…

Continue reading